Subwoofer Placement: Does it matter or not?

Lord Alfred
I've been enjoying my Onkyo 650 for a few months now, and I have my main speakers all arranged according to the HT standard. However, I've been told that, due to the low frequencies put out by a subwoofer, it does not matter where in the room it is placed or pointed.

Due to the fact that the Onkyo sub has a distinct front and seems to project forward, I'm doubting this. What are some tips for placing a sub in a room, specifically the type that comes with the 650?

fartboy
One tip is to get on your hands and knees while the sub is on (placed anywhere in the room). Move about the room until you find the spot where the sub/sound is most desireable. This is where the sub should be placed.
I have my sub placed to the right of my TV with the port facing out. It looks the best there plus sounds good in my room.
You'll more or less have to compromise between looks and sound

miketike
I spent weeks agonizing over this. I ended up putting the sub at the back of the room and found it rounded out the system sound the best. When I had the sub up fornt, the surround impact was not as great as when it was at the back. Having it at the back of the room gave a better sense you were truly "surrounded" by sound when playing Dolby movies. Same with audio CDs and even the FM tuner.

po
Most experts will recommend that the sub be placed at the front of the room somewhere between the Left front and Right front speakers.

Adjust the distance to any walls based on how "boomy" it sounds once it is positioned.

-po

box
I placed my sub at the front right of the room with the port facing towards the left of the room, instead of facing back towards the audience. This seemed to sound better than facing the port back.

Lord Alfred
"Adjust the distance to any walls based on how "boomy" it sounds once it is positioned."