| Author |
Thread: What kind of scam is this? |
   
Gold Member Username: Rideredder
Cornell,
IL
USA
Post Number: 1276 Registered: Sep-05
|
| Posted on Tuesday, January 08, 2008 - 07:42 pm: |
|
Got this in my email today. **{CONTACT FEDEX IMMEDIATELY}** Greetings! I have been waiting for you since to contact me for your Confirmable BankDraft of $900.000.00 United States Dollars, but I did not hear from you since that time. Then I went and deposited the Draft with FEDEX COURIER SERVICE,West Africa, I travelled out of the country for a 3 Months Course and I will not come back till end of March. What you have to do now is to contact the FEDEX COURIER SERVICE as soon as possible to know when they will deliver your package to you because of the expiring date. For your information, I have paid for the delivering Charge,Insurance premium and Clearance Certificate Fee of the Cheque showing that itis not a Drug Money or meant to sponsor Terrorist attack in your Country. The only money you will send to the FEDEX COURIER SERVICE to deliver your Draft direct to your postal Address in your country is ($265.00 US) Dollars only being Security Keeping Fee of the Courier Company so far. Again, don't be deceived by anybody to pay any other money except $265.00US Dollars. I would have paid that but they said no because they don't know when you will contact them and in case of demurrage.You have to contact the FEDEX COURIER SERVICE now for the delivery of your Draft with this information bellow; Contact Person: Mr. Daniel J.cole Email Address: fedexcourier_ng@yahoo.com Telephone: +2347034517632 Finally, make sure that you reconfirm your Postal address() and Direct telephone number to them again to avoid any mistake on the Delivery and ask them to give you the tracking number to enable you track your package over there and know when it will get to your address. Let me repeat again, try to contact them as soon as you receive this mail to avoid any further delay and remember to pay them their Security Keeping feeof $165.00 US Dollars for their immediate action. You should also let me know through email as soon as you receive your Draft. Yours Faithfully, Mr. Key Jefferson |
|
|
|
   
Platinum Member Username: Project6
Post Number: 14211 Registered: Dec-03
|
| Posted on Tuesday, January 08, 2008 - 08:25 pm: |
|
Looks a bit like the Nigerian scam. |
   
Platinum Member Username: Wingmanalive
A pic is worth
1000 posts!!
Post Number: 12280 Registered: Jun-06
|
| Posted on Tuesday, January 08, 2008 - 08:30 pm: |
|
I would forward it to Fedex directly. Probably thousands of others will also. Don't you love the "Send me money so you can get yours" scams? Fuggin scammers.
 |
   
Platinum Member Username: Bestmankind
IM THE REAL SLIM SHADY
Post Number: 16698 Registered: Oct-05
|
| Posted on Tuesday, January 08, 2008 - 09:32 pm: |
|
the sad part about it is that i am sure there are some that might fall for that kinda scam. lol. |
   
Platinum Member Username: Wingmanalive
A pic is worth
1000 posts!!
Post Number: 12282 Registered: Jun-06
|
| Posted on Tuesday, January 08, 2008 - 09:59 pm: |
|
They play the odds on the masses and obviously win. Why else would they keep doing it??? |
   
Gold Member Username: Adddisorder
Palm Beach,
Florida
Post Number: 5723 Registered: Jan-06
|
| Posted on Tuesday, January 08, 2008 - 10:06 pm: |
|
i like how the email is just a yahoo account, thats really professional. |
   
Platinum Member Username: Project6
Post Number: 14214 Registered: Dec-03
|
| Posted on Tuesday, January 08, 2008 - 11:23 pm: |
|
There are people out there willing to believe this stuff. If not, there won't be "scam" in the dictionary...heh! |
   
Bronze Member Username: Jervs
Post Number: 15 Registered: Dec-07
|
| Posted on Tuesday, January 08, 2008 - 11:30 pm: |
|
Nigerian Scam is one of the oldest Internet scam...its been around for 10 years now I supposed. |
   
Platinum Member Username: Wingmanalive
A pic is worth
1000 posts!!
Post Number: 12296 Registered: Jun-06
|
| Posted on Tuesday, January 08, 2008 - 11:38 pm: |
|
 |
   
Silver Member Username: Wolf_hound
Phoenix,
AZ
Post Number: 518 Registered: Sep-05
|
| Posted on Tuesday, January 08, 2008 - 11:39 pm: |
|
you know its a scam when they say "In US Dollars" |
   
Platinum Member Username: Project6
Post Number: 14217 Registered: Dec-03
|
| Posted on Tuesday, January 08, 2008 - 11:46 pm: |
|
Send me your bank account number so I can give you money... |
   
Gold Member Username: Cblaze
Rock island,
Tenesssee
Us
Post Number: 1347 Registered: Sep-07
|
| Posted on Wednesday, January 09, 2008 - 01:32 am: |
|
lol the nigerian scammers tried saying i had a rich kenfolk over sees that owned a oil company and that he passed away and i was getting the money from it,they said give me your personal info and your bank account number,they just take money out of your bank account and ignore you,i didnt fall for it tho |
   
Bronze Member Username: Jervs
Post Number: 19 Registered: Dec-07
|
| Posted on Wednesday, January 09, 2008 - 02:04 am: |
|
Once my friend replied to emails by Nigerian Spammer until my friend was asking for the Nigerian details. They exchanged emails for about 2 weeks until the spammer stop replying mainly because he was wasting too much time replying to my friends email..hehehe. |
   
Gold Member Username: Rideredder
Cornell,
IL
USA
Post Number: 1282 Registered: Sep-05
|
| Posted on Wednesday, January 09, 2008 - 06:41 am: |
|
Julian, whereabouts do you live in Phoenix? My brother is living there now going to MMI (Motorcycle Mechanics Institute). He lives in the very northern part of Phoenix. 27th and Deer Valley. |
   
Gold Member Username: Bnd_rulez
Phoenix,
AZ
USA
Post Number: 1100 Registered: Mar-05
|
| Posted on Wednesday, January 09, 2008 - 10:20 am: |
|
Dateline had a story kind of like this about how bad Nigeria is with all the scamming and ID theft. I would forward to FedEx and forget about it. |
   
Gold Member Username: Adddisorder
Palm Beach,
Florida
Post Number: 5726 Registered: Jan-06
|
| Posted on Wednesday, January 09, 2008 - 11:47 am: |
|
yeah i saw that dateline special it was pretty good. |
   
Gold Member Username: Bnd_rulez
Phoenix,
AZ
USA
Post Number: 1115 Registered: Mar-05
|
| Posted on Wednesday, January 09, 2008 - 01:31 pm: |
|
Yeah. Totally had that guy fooled and worried. Side not: The girl in the pictures was hot as h3ll. |
   
Silver Member Username: Wolf_hound
Phoenix,
AZ
Post Number: 520 Registered: Sep-05
|
| Posted on Thursday, January 10, 2008 - 12:18 am: |
|
Mark I live in west phoenix by 59th ave thomas. Do you know how much it cost your brother to go to MMI? I want to go there to get certified i already know alot about bikes but i want to learn more and get certified so i can get paid more. |
   
Gold Member Username: Rideredder
Cornell,
IL
USA
Post Number: 1283 Registered: Sep-05
|
| Posted on Thursday, January 10, 2008 - 01:35 am: |
|
I'm not real sure, but I think it was around ten thousand for the courses he is taking. He signed up for late model Harley and Honda, which is a fourteen month course, but he's going to take an extra course while he's there. If you're ever up on Deer Valley, my brother works at the Circle K on the corner of 19th and W Deer Valley Dr. Tell him I said what's up. It'll freak him out. |
   
Gold Member Username: Rideredder
Cornell,
IL
USA
Post Number: 1284 Registered: Sep-05
|
| Posted on Thursday, January 10, 2008 - 02:17 am: |
|
I just talked to my brother and I was way off. He said it was $20,000 just for Harley. With his extra course, he's paying around $38,000. |
   
Silver Member Username: Wolf_hound
Phoenix,
AZ
Post Number: 522 Registered: Sep-05
|
| Posted on Thursday, January 10, 2008 - 02:37 am: |
|
Do they give you a chance to pay it or is it cash up front lol. I would love to go there. Im rarely up north lol i don't know any one up there. How much is he gonna be getting paid once he graduates? i heard is up to 50 dollars an hour |
   
Gold Member Username: Rideredder
Cornell,
IL
USA
Post Number: 1286 Registered: Sep-05
|
| Posted on Thursday, January 10, 2008 - 03:10 am: |
|
I have no idea on the payments. As far as getting paid, I heard up to $80 an hour on late model Harley. |
   
Gold Member Username: Adddisorder
Palm Beach,
Florida
Post Number: 5745 Registered: Jan-06
|
| Posted on Thursday, January 10, 2008 - 11:32 am: |
|
i got to marine mechanics institute in orlando we got a bike one here too. you can pay for the school upfront or get a loan and just pay that every month, or you can pay the shcool every couple months. i highly doubt he will be making 50+ an hour, after being in the field for say 5 years maybe its possible but i dont know the bike industry that well, but i dont think their is that much money in it. plus dont go by what the school says he will make because they over rate it alot. do you own research and stuff like that youll find alot more accurate pay. in april im doubling up and going 12 hours a day to finish early. |
   
Platinum Member Username: Bestmankind
IM THE REAL SLIM SHADY
Post Number: 16746 Registered: Oct-05
|
| Posted on Thursday, January 10, 2008 - 11:57 am: |
|
mark i assume you got the sub? did it arrive okay? also did you read the newspapers? lol |
   
Gold Member Username: Rideredder
Cornell,
IL
USA
Post Number: 1287 Registered: Sep-05
|
| Posted on Thursday, January 10, 2008 - 08:12 pm: |
|
Yeah, I got the sub. Thing looks awesome. No, I didn't read any of the newspapers. |
   
Gold Member Username: Rideredder
Cornell,
IL
USA
Post Number: 1288 Registered: Sep-05
|
| Posted on Friday, January 11, 2008 - 02:01 am: |
|
 |